Automating Humanity: Joe Toscano

This month at Camp David, we partnered with powerHouse Books to host an evening of eye-opening conversation with Joe Toscano, author of Automating Humanity

Formerly an award-winning Experience Design Consultant for Google, Toscano stepped away from his role due to ethical concerns in 2017. With his recently launched book and the start of the Better Ethics and Consumer Outcome Network, he now delivers a warning to policymakers, civilians, and industry professionals alike: we need a strategy for the future, and we need it now.  We sat down with the author to ask a few questions of our own.

• • •

WHERE ARE YOU FROM ORIGINALLY?

Nebraska, the place you would least expect. Omaha suburbs, one mile from the middle of nowhere.

WHAT IS YOUR PRACTICE?

By trade I’m an experience designer.  I started my career as a developer, but I realized over time that I was coding the systems that were going to take my job so I switched to design. I’ve made my career running in the middle– I can speak to developers and engineers, understand the needs and translate that into a design that doesn’t waste time on what’s impossible.

Together, with the help of his global network, Joe plans start a global conversation that will help educate the public about what’s going on inside the industry, help regulators understand what questions to ask, and provide technologist the knowledge, tools, and resources to create a better future, through technology.

WHAT WAS THE TURNING POINT THAT MADE YOU WANT TO WRITE AUTOMATING HUMANITY?